Darjeeling Himalayan Railway

Darjeeling Himalayan Railway

About Darjeeling Himalayan Railway

DHR stands for “ Darjeeling Himalayan Railway ” (दार्जिलिंग हिमालयी रेलवे) is also known as “Darjeeling Toy Train” is 02 feet or 610 mm narrow gauge railway based switchback and loop line technology. The Toy Train in Darjeeling was introduced in the year 1879 by Franklin Prestage. It is operated by the North East Frontier Railway Zone. It is headquartered at Elysia Place, Kurseong.

Northeast Frontier Railway Zone
Image Source: blog.railyatri.in

The UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) has declared the Toy Train Darjeeling as “World Heritage Site” in the year 02nd Dec of 1999. Currently, it is called “Mountain Railways of India” after the 02 railway lines are added.

Route Map of Darjeeling Himalayan Railways

Darjeeling Toy Train Ticket Booking
Image Source: dhr.indianrailways.gov.in

Darjeeling Toy Train Ticket Booking & Fare

You can get the details of Darjeeling mail seat availability online by the official portals of IR. The Darjeeling Mail Fare can be known and you can do Toy Train Darjeeling Ticket Booking in the following ways:

  • Firstly, IRCTC
  • Secondly, IR Tourism Site
  • Thirdly, Computerized reservation counters in India
  • Subsequently, Darjeeling Railway Station
  • Lastly, Tour Operator

Indian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation Limited

DHR Railway Stations

The Darjeeling Himalayan Railway runs from New Jalpaiguri and Darjeeling in West Bengal State and consists of 14 stations. The Darjeeling Train consists the distance length of about 88 Kilometres. The following are the Darjeeling Himalayan Railway Stations:

  • Firstly, New Jalpaiguri (NJP) Railway Station
  • Secondly, Siliguri Town Railway Station
  • Thirdly, Siliguri Junction Railway Station
  • Subsequently, Sukna Railway Station
  • Also, Rongtong Railway Station
  • Tindharia Railway Station
  • Loop 4 Railway Station
  • Reverse No. 6 Railway Station
  • Kurseong Railway Station
  • Tung Railway Station
  • Sonada Railway Station
  • Rangbul Railway Station
  • Jorebungalow Railway Station
  • Ghum Railway Station
  • Batasia Loop Railway Station
  • Lastly Darjeeling Railway Station.

Map of the loops and reverses along Darjeeling Toy Train route.

Darjeeling Himalayan Railway Stations
Image Source: dhr.indianrailways.gov.in

Darjeeling Train Timetable

The following are the Toy Train in Darjeeling Himalayan Railway Timetable for the different categories trains or Indian railway PNR status chart of Toy Train in Darjeeling:

1. Passenger Train

The following is the Darjeeling Himalayan Railway timetable of passenger trains:

Train Number Train Name Kurseong Darjeeling
52587 Up River View Passenger Dep.07:00 Hrs Arr.09:45 Hrs
Train Number Train Name  Mahanadi Darjeeling
52545 Up Teesta-Rangeet  Passenger   Dep.14:15 Hrs Arr. 17:45 Hrs
Train Number Train Name  Darjeeling Mahanadi
52544 Down Teesta-RangeetPassenger   Dep. 10:15 Hrs Arr. 14:00 Hrs
Train Number Train Name Darjeeling Kurseong
52588 Down River View  Passenger Dep. 16:00 Hrs Arr. 18:40 Hrs

Special Trains

The following is the Darjeeling Himalayan Railway timetable of special trains:

Train Number Siliguri Junction Tindharia Siliguri Junction
52551  Jungle Safari       Dep.     10:00 Hrs              Arr.              12:20 Hrs            Arr.          15:48 Hrs Daily from Siliguri Jn to Gayabari  & back.

Joy Ride Darjeeling Special Trains

The following is the Darjeeling Himalayan Railway timetable of Joy Ride Darjeeling special trains:

Train Number Train Name Darjeeling Departure Ghum   Arrival Darjeeling  Arrival
Firstly, 52546 Joy Ride(Diesel Loco) 08:00    Hrs 08:50 Hrs 10:00   Hrs
Secondly, 52548 Joy Ride(Steam Loco) 10:40   Hrs 11:30 Hrs 12:40 Hrs
Thirdly, 52549 Joy Ride(Steam Loco) 13:20   Hrs 14:10 Hrs 15:20 Hrs
Lastly, 52547 Joy Ride(Steam Loco) 16:05   Hrs 16:55 Hrs 18:05 Hrs

Darjeeling Himalayan Railway Website: http://darjeeling.gov.in