East Central Railway Zone

East Central Railway Zone

About East Central Railway Zone

East Central Railway Zone (पूर्व मध्य रेलवे) is simply abbreviated as “ECR”. It is one of the seventeen Railway Zones of India. ECR Zone has established in the year 08th Sep of 1996 and started operations as IR in the year 01st Oct of 2002. The EC Railway Zone is about the length of 3628 Kilometres with the track gauge of broad gauge. East Central Railways is the sub-zone of Eastern Railway Zone.

Eastern Railway Zone
Image Source: jobsdestiny.com

ECR Zone Divisions

According to ECR Zone map, the zone is divided into 05 divisions and they are of the following:

  1. Firstly, Danapur Railway Division
  2. Secondly, Mughalsarai Railway Division
  3. Thirdly, Sonpur Railway Division
  4. Dhanbad Railway Division
  5. Lastly, Samastipur Railway Division
ECR Zone
Image Source: ecr.indianrailways.gov.in

EC Railway Workshops

The following are the workshops operated by EC Railway Zone:

  • Samastipur Workshop
  • Carriage Repair Workshop, Harnaut

East Central Railways Covering States

The following are the East Central Railways that spreads across the state:

  • Firstly, Bihar State
  • Secondly, Jharkhand State
  • Thirdly, Uttar Pradesh State
  • Lastly, Madhya Pradesh State (In some areas)
EC Railway
Image Source: ecr.indianrailways.gov.in

East Central Railway Zone Lines

The following are the East Central Railway Zone Lines:

  • Howrah-Delhi main line
  • Grand Chord
  • Barauni–Chhapra-Gorakhpur, Darbhanga, Raxaul, Saharsa-Purnea-Katihar and Jaynagar lines
  • Barauni–Samastipur–Muzaffarpur–Hajipur line
  • Muzaffarpur–Gorakhpur line (via Hajipur, Raxaul, and Sitamarhi)
  • Muzaffarpur–Gorakhpur mainline
  • CIC – Dhanbad-Chopan-Singrauli
East Central Railways
Image Source: mapsofindia.com

EC Railway Loco Sheds

The following are the Loco Sheds of EC Railway:

  • Firstly, Diesel Loco Shed at Samastipur
  • Secondly, Diesel Loco Shed at Mughalsarai
  • Thirdly, Electric Loco Shed at Gomoh
  • Diesel Loco Shed at Patratu

Important Details of East Central Railway Zone