Northeast Frontier Railway Zone

Northeast Frontier Railway Zone

About Northeast Frontier Railway Zone

The Northeast Frontier Railway Zone is simply abbreviated as “NFR”. It is one of the seventeen railway zones of IR. NFR Railway Zone has established in the year 15th Jan of 1958 and also started operations on the same date. Northeast Railway Zone is the subzone of Northern Railway Zone of Indian Railways. NF Railway Zone has headquartered at Maligaon, Guwahati district of Assam State. The Northeast Frontier Railways are responsible for the rail operations in the Northeastern side and also Bihar State and West Bengal State.

Railway Zones in India

NFR Railway Zone Divisions

According to NFR Zone map, the zone is divided into 05 divisions and they are of the following:

  • Firstly, Katihar Railway Division
  • Secondly, Alipuduar Railway Division
  • Thirdly, Lumding Railway Division
  • Rangiya Railway Division
  • Lastly, Tinsukia Railway Division

NF Railway Workshops

The following is the workshop operated by NF Railway Zone:

  • Tindharia Workshop
NFR Railway Zone
Image Source:

The above workshop operated by NF Railway Zone can explain briefly in the following:

Tindharia Workshop

Firstly, it has kept thirteen locomotives surviving. Among them, some are 100 years old and some are 70 years old which are youngest

Northeast Frontier Railways Covering States

The following are the Northeast Frontier Railways spread across the state:

  • Bihar State
  • Meghalaya State
  • Assam State
  • Tripura State
  • West Bengal State
  • Manipur State
  • Mizoram State
  • Arunachal Pradesh State
NF Railway
Image Source:

NF Railway Tender

NF Railway Tender portal issues the tenders to the contractors for the following of electronic goods, electrical equipment etc. Also, Know the NFR Tender details in the official portal.

NFR Recruitment

RRB Guwahati is the official Railway Recruitment Board of NFR Recruitment portal. It releases the notifications when they need the source of employment.

Important Details of Northeast Frontier Railways