Railway Zones in India & its Divisions

About Railway Zones in India

The Indian Railways is one of the largest railway networks in the world. Because of its huge operations, it is divided into zones and these Indian Railway Zones are subdivided into divisions. These each division having a railway headquarters for Railway Zones in India.

Indian Railway and Indian Railway Logo

Indian Railway Divisions

There are 16 railway zone in India as well as 73 Indian railway divisions. Each division is managed by DRM (Divisional Railway Manager) and also reports to the GM (General Manager) of the railway Zone.

Services of Railway Zone in India

The Divisional Railway Manager is appointed by any of the Indian Railways 08 organized services for the tenure of 03 years. But by the IR Board recommendation, it can exceed. The 01 or 02 ADRM (Additional Divisional Railway Managers) who are already working in the field will train the fresher’s DRM

Indian Railways
Image Source: indianrailways.gov.in

The following are the Services of Railway Zone in India:

  • Firstly, IRTS (Indian Railway Traffic Service)
  • Secondly, IRAS (Indian Railway Accounts Service)
  • Thirdly, IRPS (Indian Railway Personnel Service)
  • IRSE (Indian Railway Service of Engineers)
  • IRSME (Indian Railway Service of Mechanical Engineers)
  • IRSEE (Indian Railway Service of Electrical Engineers)
  • IRSSE (Indian Railway Service of Signal Engineers)
  • Lastly, IRSS (Indian Railway Stores Service)

Indian Railway Zones

The following are the Indian Railway Zones – Headquarters and Divisions:

Indian Railway Zone


IR Head Quarters

Length of the Route in KM

No. of Train Stations


Passengers carried in Million

Indian Railway Divisions

Northern RailwayNRDelhi6,968114289,246 million

(US$1.3 billion)

685Delhi, Ambala, Firozpur, Lucknow NR and also Moradabad
North Eastern RailwayNERGorakhpur3,66753717,667 million

(US$260 million)

250Izzatnagar, Lucknow NER and also Varanasi
Northeast Frontier RailwayNFRGuwahati3,90769021,079 million

(US$310 million)

88Alipurduar, Katihar, Rangiya, Lumding and also Tinsukia
Eastern RailwayERKolkata2,41457637,254 million

(US$540 million)

1,173Howrah, Sealdah, Asansol and also Malda
South Eastern RailwaySERKolkata2,63135373,721 million

(US$1.1 billion)

263Adra, Chakradharpur, Kharagpur and also Ranchi
South Central RailwaySCRSecunderabad6,13788389,114 million

(US$1.3 billion)

378Secunderabad, Hyderabad, Vijayawada, Guntakal, Guntur and also Nanded
Southern RailwaySRChennai6,84489081,820 million

(US$1.2 billion)

406Chennai, Tiruchirappalli, Madurai, Palakkad, Salem and also Thiruvananthapuram
Central RailwayCRMumbai3,90561275,447 million

(US$1.1 billion)

1,675Mumbai, Bhusawal, Pune, Solapur and also Nagpur
Western RailwayWRMumbai6,182104682,167 million

(US$1.2 billion)

1,654Mumbai WR, Ratlam, Ahmedabad, Rajkot, Bhavnagar and also Vadodara
South Western RailwaySWRHubballi3,17745626,384 million

(US$380 million)

181Hubballi, Bengaluru and also Mysuru
North Western RailwayNWRJaipur5,45966336,240 million

(US$530 million)

157Jabalpur, Bhopal and also Kota
West Central RailwayWCRJabalpur2,96537265,135 million

(US$950 million)

138Jaipur, Ajmer, Bikaner and also Jodhpur
North Central RailwayNCRAllahabad3,15143587,796 million

(US$1.3 billion)

182Allahabad, Agra and also Jhansi
South East Central RailwaySECRBilaspur2,44735863,402 million

(US$920 million)

126Bilaspur, Raipur and also Nagpur SEC
East Coast RailwayECoRBhubaneswar2,57234287,884 million

(US$1.3 billion)

86Khurda Road, Sambalpur and also Waltair
East Central RailwayECRHajipur3,62880059,386 million

(US$860 million)

222Danapur, Dhanbad, Mughalsarai, Samastipur and also Sonpur

Source: http://www.indianrailways.gov.in/railwayboard/view_section.jsp?lang=0&id=0,7,276

Important Details of Railway Zones in India