Southern Railway Zone

Southern Railway Zone

About Southern Railway Zone

Southern Railway Zone is simply abbreviated as “SR”. It is one of the 17 Railway Zones of India. SR Zone is established by joining the following 03 state railways of South Indian Railway Company, Mysore State Railway and Madras and Southern Mahratta Railway in the year 14th Apr of 1951 of. It started operations on the same date which operates freight trains as well as passenger trains of Indian Railways. SR Railway Zone consists about the length of 6844 meters with meter gauge and also broad gauge.

SR Zone
Image Source:

SR Zone Divisions

According to Southern Railways Map, the zones are divided into 06 divisions and they are of the following:

  • Firstly, Thiruvananthapuram Division
  • Secondly, Palakkad Division
  • Thirdly, Madurai Division
  • Chennai Division
  • Tiruchirappalli Division
  • Salem Division
Southern Railways
Image Source:

SR Railway Sub – Zones

The following are the sub-zones of SR Railway:

South Central Railways
Image Source:

Southern Railway Workshops

The following are the workshops operated by railway zone of southern (दक्षिणी रेलवे क्षेत्र):

  • Firstly, Mechanical Workshops
  • Secondly, Electrical and Communication
  • Thirdly, Sheds
  • MEMU Car Shed
  • EMU Car Shed
  • BG Coaching Maintenance Depots
  • Wagon Maintainance Depots
  • Lastly, Printing Presses
SR Railway
Image Source:

South Indian Railway Covering States

The following are the South Indian Railway Covering States:

  • Kerala
  • Tamil Nadu
  • Puducherry
  • Some areas of Andhra Pradesh and also Karnataka

SRZ Major Trains

The following are the major trains operated by SRZ:


Train Name

Starting Station

Terminating Station

12007/12008 Chennai Central–Mysuru Shatabdi Express Chennai Central Mysuru
12243/12244 Chennai Central–Coimbatore Shatabdi Express Chennai Central Coimbatore
12605/12606 Pallavan Express Karaikkudi Junction Chennai Egmore
16021/16022 Kaveri Express Chennai Central Mysuru
16023/16024 Malgudi Express Mysuru Yesvantapur
22625/22626 Chennai – Bangalore Double Decker Express Chennai Central Bengaluru
22631/22632 Anuvrat AC Superfast Express Chennai Central Bikaner

Southern Railway Reservation

South Indian Railway provides the facility of Southern Railway Online Reservation. Know the Southern Railway Timetable which is in PDF format and download.

Important Details of Southern Railway Enquiry